Blogs are like ATMs

Before the days of ATMs, if I wanted cash I had to get it from my bank. It wasn’t particularly convenient because I was at the mercy of the bank’s schedule and limited reach. Furthermore, if I consumed all of the cash the bank gave me, I would have to wait until the next day to get more cash. With the advent of ATMs, the tide switched in my favor. You see, I don’t really care that much about where I get cash from. I just want the ability to get it whenever I want regardless of where I am. While I would prefer that the ATM be associated with my bank because I trust my bank, I ultimately just care about convenience and thus will get cash from the most readily available ATM that has a minimum level of trustworthiness. Banks do offer more value than just dispensing cash, but the vast majority of the time cash is all I want. That is the reason ATMs are here to stay and the old way of getting cash seems absurd.

In the above paragraph, simply replacing the word “ATM” with “blog”, “cash” with “news” and “bank” with “newspaper” yields the following result:

Before the days of blogs, if I wanted news I had to get it from my newspaper. It wasn’t particularly convenient because I was at the mercy of the newspaper’s schedule and limited reach. Furthermore, if I consumed all of the news the newspaper gave me, I would have to wait until the next day to get more news. With the advent of blogs, the tide switched in my favor. You see, I don’t really care that much about where I get news from. I just want the ability to get it whenever I want regardless of where I am. While I would prefer that the blog be associated with my newspaper because I trust my newspaper, I ultimately just care about convenience and thus will get news from the most readily available blog that has a minimum level of trustworthiness. Newspapers do offer more value than just dispensing news, but the vast majority of the time news is all I want. That is the reason blogs are here to stay and the old way of getting news seems absurd.

I find that to be rather interesting!  Now newspapers just need to learn to embrace the tidal shift and monetize it.

2 Responses to “Blogs are like ATMs”

  1. Mark Josephson Says:

    Neat metaphor.

    Think also about the 6pm local newscast. Remember having to wait until 6:20 to find out if the Red Sox (or whomever) won their late game the night before?

    Can you imagine now not being able to find out sports scores or news reports whenever you want??

  2. jgannonwp Says:

    Here’s a step in the right direction (Guardian is opening up an API) : http://is.gd/mFLy

Leave a Reply

